C of I Newsletter

2006. 06. 01.

back to archive

Commencement Celebrations Begin

Nearly 220 students will walk across the steps in front of Boone Hall and become Albertson College of Idaho alumni this weekend. The Class of 2006 does not pale in comparison to the accomplishments of their fellow alumni. This year’s class is indeed going on to greatness. Their stories are too numerous to list. The following are just a few examples of programs they have been accepted into and some of their plans for the next year.

Alan Barber – University of California San Francisco, PhD program

Helen Pihlstrom – Will help build a new library in her hometown of Siletz, OR, before attending Georgetown Law School in the fall.

Erica Littlefield – Syracuse University, Arts Journalism Program

Tshering Sherpa – University of Idaho, Neuroscience Master’s Program

John T. Reuter – Partner in the Sandpoint Reader, a weekly arts magazine started by CofI alumni

Talia Sierra – Idaho State University, Physician’s Assistant Program

Kathryn Traughber – Oregon Health Sciences Clinical MS Lab

Burke Hays – Georgetown, Master's of Public Health Program

Kristyn Price – Boston Conservatory, Master's program in Musical Theatre

Zach Barnes – Boise State University, History Master’s Program

Sarah Briggs – Selected for internship with Sen. Larry Craig

This year, a group of three prominent alumni will receive the college’s highest form of recognition, the honorary degree.

Idaho Supreme Court Chief Justice Gerald F. Schroeder ’61 will give the commencement address. Schroeder fondly remembers his time at the college. 'I am a strong believer in the small liberal arts school, the community attitude of faculty and students is a powerful force and I think it will become more and more important in the future,' Schroeder said. 'During my time at the College, we had some of our better discussions about history and its impact in the SUB with a few students and a professor or two.' Schroeder went on to Harvard Law School. He returned to Idaho to practice law and is the longest serving member of the Idaho Judiciary.

Kenneth C. Howell ’81 and Donald S. Hendrickson ’64 will also be awarded with honorary degrees. Both Howell and Hendrickson have served on the CofI Board of Trustees. Howell is the outgoing chairman and a prominent Boise attorney. He served as the president of the National Alumni Board before being invited to join the trustees. He has given countless hours in service to the College. Hendrickson attended the University of Chicago and earned an MBA after graduating from the College of Idaho. He helped lead the Boise Cascade Corporation for 24 years before founding BMC West. He served as the President and CEO of BMC West until his retirement in 1998. Hendrickson has worked tirelessly to contribute to his community and his alma mater.

Commencement weekend begins Friday evening with Baccalaureate. The reflection service will be held in the JA Albertson Activities Center Gym at 8 p.m. Commencement Exercises begin at 10 a.m. on Saturday in the Morrison Quadrangle.

We hope you will join us in congratulating the Class of 2006 on their many accomplishments. We wish them all good luck in the future!