C of I Newsletter

2010. 07. 02

back to archive


Yard sale a big success for Staff Association

The College of Idaho Staff Association’s annual yard sale was a huge hit, raising a record $3,000 for the Staff Association Scholarship Fund. The Terteling Library lawn was filled with donated goods and bargain shoppers on June 24 and 25 for what is becoming one of the biggest public events of the summer on the C of I campus.

“It was a great success for the staff and for the students who are going to benefit from this scholarship,” said Justin Waldron, President of the Staff Association. “I think the yard sale is on its way to maximizing its potential. It’s become a community event that a lot of people look forward to every year.”

Items sold at the yard sale were donated by the College and its staff, faculty and students. In addition to usual items like clothes and books, the Staff Association was able to sell off old furniture, lecture hall chairs, artwork and appliances from Boone Hall and other buildings around campus.

All together, the money earned for the scholarship fund topped the previous record, set in 2009, by more than $1,000.

“It was a great team effort,” said Russell Shoemaker, who teamed with Kelsie VanKomen to lead the maintenance and operations department’s effort on the sale. “It was pretty rewarding to see the passion the staff has for this institution.”

Shoemaker, VanKomen and Waldron organized the sale, from setting up tables and moving large items to the Terteling lawn to running the cash register and arranging deliveries. Jaclyn McGrew was in charge of advertising and publicity – which Shoemaker pointed out as one of the biggest improvements over previous years – and dozens of staff and student volunteers gave of their time to help out. Two students – George Fiadjoe and Alex Blood –boosted sales by wearing the old Coyote mascot head and waving a sign at passing traffic on Cleveland Boulevard.

The C of I also made a positive impact on the community. Late Friday afternoon, Shoemaker gave all of the unsold books to the library of Vallivue Academy, an alternative high school in Caldwell.

The College of Idaho honors 212 students on Spring Semester Dean's List

The College of Idaho congratulates the students who made the Dean’s List for the 2010 Spring Semester. To receive Dean's List recognition, a student must complete at least nine graded credits and achieve a GPA of 3.75 or higher for that semester. Spring Semester had 212 Dean’s List qualifiers, over 20 percent of the total enrollment at The College of Idaho.

Dean’s List honorees for the 2010 Spring Semester were: Kasey L. Allen, Meighan V. Anchustegui, Amber M. Anderson, Cameron G. Anderson, Adjoa M. Anim-Appiah, McKel L. Baker, Kimberly R. Banning, Laura G. Barbour, Zachery P. Barker, Ashley E. Barr, Azra Basaric, Taylor J. Bateman, Lisa M. Bayes, Larissa K. Beck, Tiffany H. Beebe, Sidrah S. Bittner, Danielle E. Blenker, Rachael A. Bodes, Sarah E. Bodes, Hillary L. Bodnar, Abigail L. Bonadies, Abigail J. Borman, Jacob D. Bottari, Morgan C. Bow, Kathryn R. Bowen, Tony B. Bradshaw, Claudia Brandt, Faith A. Brasher, Camrin D. Braun, Kinga E. Britschgi, Brittni J. Brown, John J. Burk, Danna L. Byers, Ashlee M. Byrnes, Rachel M. Campbell, Ashley Carvalho, Anna M. Chapman, Dulce R. Chavez, Azra Cickusic, James K. Collet, Hope A. Collins, Courtney M. Combe, Keats R. Conley, Matthew C. Conner, Nancy Cortes, Monika A. Craciunescu, Jocelyn R. Cracroft, Emma J. Crockett, Colin J. Currie, Logan J. Danielson, Corrie A. De Ruyter, Megan E. Dembi, Jamie E. Derry, Jesse J. Dodd, Michelle C. Eide, Jaclyn A. Eisele, Makenzie R. Ellsworth, Amber E. Evans, Dylan D. Evans, Elizabeth A. Farnworth, Roland N. Farrens, Katie M. Fendrick, Andres Figueroa, Dayne L. Filer, Codi L. Fitzgerald, Breanna J. Fletcher, Ciciley T. Fox, Amanda J. Frickle, Nicole A. Gall, Marie M. Galyean, Rebecca L. Goodwin, Gabrielle R. Gould, Alexandra S. Grande, Amanda M. Greif, Bryanne Gribble, Krista M. Hafez, Derik E. Haggard, Skylar J. Hall, Kelly K. Hardegree-Ullman, Megan M. Hattrup, Andrea L. Hayes, John M. Heinemann, Nathaniel J. Henson, Courtney J. Hill, Geoffrey R. Hill, Amanda A. Holmes, Renee C. Howells, Hailey A. Huntington, Hayley J. Hutchings, Kayla J. Isham, Hayden T. Jared, Kelsey J. Jesser, Molly M. Johans, Hannah L. Johnson, Scott C. Johnson, Britney A. Judy, Katherine T. Kernan, Kirk D. Kerr, Lauren A. Kline, Christoph Kober, Emir Kobic, Chelsea K. Larsen, Stephanie S. Latimer, William G. Ledbetter, Molli E. Lee-Painter, Christian J. Low, Mira L. Madorsky, Daniel L. Mallory, Emily M. Manny, Maggie E. March, Silvia M. Marroquin, Lonnie T. Marshall, Emily S. Matlock, Casey J. Mattoon, Meredith M. Mattson, Dustin C. Mays, Mark D. McCurdy, Emily J. McCutchan, Craig M. McGee, Jack E. Meek, Katherine A. Meier, Diana Melgarejo, Ela Miljkovic, Christopher M. Miller, Katysn J. Moir, Aaron A. Mondada, Jessica E. Moon, Chelsee A. Moore, Rebecca J. Mulberry, Joshua T. Myers, Candise M. Neher, Erin K. Nelson, Thomas D. Newby, Jenette A. Noe, Zachary R. Nowak, Adam C. Nunez, Kameron Y. Ogle, Aldina Okanovic, Mikelle K. Oliver, Ricardo Osuna, Jr., Savannah M. Ottmar, Maximilian R. Padilla, Cassandra L. Painter, Stephanie M. Painter, Najla Pajazetovic, Allison G. Parrish, Anthony L. Parry, Jessica M. Patton, Anthony E. Pawelek, Edgar Jude A. Penaflor, Kyra M. Peterson, Carle A. Peterson-Perry, Melissa A. Pickett, Diamond D. Preston, Alan K. Price, Zachariah W. Pulkinen, Kyle B. Quinney, Alison M. Rabe, Shauni L. Rainboth, Dove Rainbow, Jenna E. Raino, Kyle K. Redman, Gabrielle M. Reeves, Naomi E. Reimer, Katee J. Rodriguez, Kaylyn H. Ruddy, Yana Sadouskaya, Styles A. Salek, Paul W. Sartin, Stella L. Selden, Wesley A. Semonchuk, David H. Seppi, Hanne L. Sharkey, Chenjerai K. Simpson, Madison J. Skogsberg, Steven P. Slupe, Colleen R. Smith, Levi A. Smith, Stephanie M. Sparks, Kevin Starkand, Amber M. Steele, Andrew S. Stritzke, Joshua M. Sukeena, Alex M. Tanabe, Jesus I. Tarifa, Karissa A. Tatom, Jordan J. Taylor, Megan N. Taylor, Jessie R. Thompson, Viktor Todorov, Kare A. Tonning, Aurora G. Torres, Ellen J. Town, Itxaso M. Urquidi, Cristobal E. Urrea, Erick Valenzuela, James M. Valle, Chantel M. Varland, Nikolai Vidin, Megan M. Walker, Erin M. Wantulok, Brett M. Ward, Niki L. Ward, Tyler J. Ware, Kelli R. Warren, Nicole A. Watson, Seth L. Watson, Jonathan R. Weese, Rachelle L. Wood, Jiwen Xu.


Summer 2010

Upcoming Alumni Events

Summer 2010

Upcoming Athletic Events

July 5

Deadline to nominate annual outstanding alumni award winners. Click on this link for a complete description of the awards and details on how to nominate.

July 11-16

Idaho Humanities Council Summer Institute: Why Mark Twain Still Matters. Public sessions at Langroise Recital Hall: July 11 (7:30 p.m.); July 12 (7 p.m.); July 13 (7 p.m.); July 15 (7 p.m.)

July 16

C of I English professor Scott Knickerbocker performs with his old-time string band, the Hokum Hi-Flyers, at the Linen Building in Boise, 6 p.m.

July 17

EcoAlumni Series, Red Feather Lounge in Boise, 9:00 am


The College of Idaho got another press mention for its use of recyclable caps and gowns during commencement, this time from the Presbyterian News Service. Read the story here: archive.pcusa.org/pcnews/2010/10529.htm

Psychology professor Meredith Minear was mentioned in the Guardian, a British daily newspaper, on May 22. She was quoted for her research on attention spans. For a hard copy of the article, contact Dr. Minear or the Office of Marketing and Communications.

College of Idaho graduate Dr. Mary Barinaga (Class of 1991) was recognized in the Idaho WWAMI Medical Education Program 2010 Summer Newsletter. Dr. Barinaga has been named Idaho WWAMI's Assistant Clinical Dean.