Press Release Archive 2011 - 1999

C of I baccalaureate and commencement May 30 and 31

2008. 05. 28.

CALDWELL – The College of Idaho will celebrate its 117th graduating class with a baccalaureate on May 30 and commencement on May 31. This is the first class to graduate from The College of Idaho since it returned to its original name in October.

Graduates will receive diplomas from both The College of Idaho and Albertson College of Idaho, which was the name of the College when they entered.

Commencement begins at 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 31 in the Morrison Quadrangle, weather permitting. If it is raining, the ceremony will be held in the J.A. Albertson Activities Center.

Idaho Supreme Court Justice Warren E. Jones, who graduated from the College in 1965, will give the commencement address and will receive an honorary degree.

Jones credits longtime C of I political economy professor George V. Wolfe with his success, both at the College and in law school. Wolfe taught at The C of I from 1946 to 1970.

"The single biggest impact during my undergraduate years was my interaction with George Wolfe," Jones said. "He provided guidance and was a mentor for myself and many others."

Jones said the high quality liberal arts education he received at The C of I gave him a strong general knowledge and background that he used on his LSATs before entering law school. He believes the Class of 2008 will be able to benefit from their experiences at the College as they enter the next phase of their lives.

"There's no limit to what you can do if you make a plan, follow it through and build on your success," he said. "I never thought I would be a Supreme Court Justice – there were days I was not even sure I would get through law school – but I continued to build on my successes."

Pastor Tri Robinson is this year's baccalaureate speaker and will receive the President's Medallion, which is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the cultural, economic, scientific and/or social advancement of Idaho and its people, and have provided exceptional service to the community, region or nation that has influenced the well being of mankind.

Robinson, who graduated from The C of I in 1970 and received his master's degree from the College in 1971, is the founding pastor of Vineyard Christian Fellowship of Boise. He is also the founder of Let's Tend the Garden, an environmental stewardship ministry.

Others who will be honored at commencement:

  • C of I Trustee Dr. Richard T. Roberge will receive an honorary degree and is also being made an honorary member of The College of Idaho Alumni Association. Honorary degrees are the highest honor bestowed by the College and Roberge was chosen for his extraordinary service and commitment to the College during his tenure on the Board of Trustees.

  • Ann Hayman, who graduated from The C of I in 1971, will receive a President's Medallion. Hayman is the founding director of the Mary Magdalene Project, a long-term residential program that provides alternatives to women involved in street prostitution in Southern California. Hayman is a granddaughter of H.H. Hayman, one of the College's founders and a prominent faculty member for whom Hayman Hall is named.

  • Professor Emeritus Boyd Henry, who has been involved with The College of Idaho for more than 50 years, will receive a President's Medallion. After Henry retired from the College's math department in 1991, he traveled the state on behalf of the College's education department conducting in-service lessons for K-12 public school teachers in 40 school districts. He worked with public school teachers and students until last year.