Press Release Archive 2011 - 1999

The C of I Howlin' Yotes claim historic victory

2008. 10. 14.

CALDWELL – The Howlin' Yotes, The C of I speech and debate team, shocked the debate world as they defeated 32 schools from across the nation to win first place at the Lewis & Clark College Speech and Debate Tournament this weekend, becoming the smallest school to ever to win the tournament. The victory is the first win for the College in the tournament's 90-year history.

Lewis & Clark College took second, Boise State University took third, Whitman College took fourth and the University of Oregon took fifth.

The Lewis and Clark tournament is one of the three largest tournaments on the west coast. To win, the Howlin' Yotes defeated schools with multiple national championships, including University of Kentucky, Rice University of Houston, William Jewell College and St. Maries College of California.

Leading the charge for the Howlin' Yotes were junior Emilie McDonagh and freshman Casey Mattoon. The partners took second place in junior varsity debate. McDonagh also took first place in the senior poetry and drama interpretive reading events. Mattoon took first place in novice impromptu speaking.

Also winning first place speech awards were juniors Adjoa Anim-Appiah and Ali Rabe in senior duet interpretive reading, while freshmen Luke Floyd and Aaron Mondada took first place in novice duet interpretive reading.

Floyd partnered with freshman Kris Cruz to take fifth place in junior debate. Yana Sadouskaya and Ayesha Lissanevitch finished in fifth place in novice debate.

Earning octo-finalist honors in debate were senior Kyleigh Murphy and junior Denyal Landford, freshmen Brooke Thornock and Dorgham Abusalim, sophomore Kat Sillinos and freshman Gerald Kirangama.

Freshman Ben Losinski, Floyd and Cruz were recognized as Top Ten debate speakers in junior varsity debate. Abusalim and Kirangama were Top Ten debate speakers in novice debate, despite the fact that both speak English as their second language.

Also contributing to the victory with various speech awards were junior John Heinemann, freshman Skylar Hall and junior Alex Hawkins.

The Howlin' Yotes will host the second annual Coyote Classic on Oct. 24-25. Boise State, Lewis & Clark, Brigham Young University, Utah State and others will try to end the Yotes' winning ways.