Press Release Archive 2011 - 1999

Albertson Collge Debate Team Places 19 Students on Northwest All-Conferece Team

2003. 08. 11.

CALDWELL, ID- Due to their outstanding performances in debate tournaments last year, 19 members of the Albertson College Speech and Debate Team were recently placed on the All-Conference Division II Team selected by the Northwest Forensics Conference.

Five of the 'Yotes earned first team honors. Marissa Hill, of Pueblo, Colo., along with Nick LaMartina, of Eagle, earned first team honors for the second year in a row. Matt Sonnichson, of Boise, Holly Stubbs of Jordan Valley, Ore., and John Davis, of Mountain Home, also earned first team honors.

Last year, the team won its fourth consecutive Northwest Conference Division II Championship. The 'Yotes placed first in tournaments at the University of Oregon, Lewis and Clark State College, University of Utah and Western Washington University, and finished ranked 25 out of more than 420 schools in the nation.

This season, they hope to win a fifth conference championship and break into the National Parliamentary Debate Association's National Top Ten.

Other Northwest Conference Division II schools include Pacific University, Northwest Nazarene University, Reed College, Linfield College, Oregon State University, University of Montana, University of Washington and University of Idaho.