Press Release Archive 2011 - 1999

Albertson College of Idaho Student Named Marshall Scholar

2006. 12. 13.

For the first time in more than three decades, an Albertson College of Idaho student has been named a Marshall Scholar.

Taylor St. John will graduate in May with a degree in International Political Economy. She plans to use the nearly $60,000 scholarship to pursue a Masters of Philosophy at Oxford University in Development Studies.

"My graduate supervisor is an expert in Indian rural development, and I look forward to doing field work with her there, specifically regarding women and microfinance," St. John said.

St. John is the third student in college history to be awarded the Marshall. She was also a finalist for the Rhodes Scholar.

As a college senior, St. John has an impressive resume. She has studied at Oxford and will soon attend the Indian Institute of Management in Bangalore, India. She spent last summer working as an analyst for Morgan Stanley in London. When she isn't studying or tackling international finance, St. John competes in tri-athalons and volunteers helping refugees with the Agency for New Americans.

In addition to intellectual distinction, Marshall selectors look for individuals who are likely to become leaders in their field and make a contribution to society. The exceptional academic achievements of this year's scholars are matched by their commitment to public service, artistic talent, and triumph over adversity. Marshall Scholars study in a range of fields, from nanotechnology and stem cell theory to development studies and linguistics.

The Marshall Scholarships were established in 1953 as a British gesture of thanks to the people of the United States for the assistance received after the Second World War under the Marshall Plan. Financed by the British Government, the highly competitive scholarships provide an opportunity for American students who have demonstrated academic excellence to continue their studies for two to three years at the British university of their choice. The Scholarships are worth about $60,000 each.

Over a thousand young Americans have been awarded Marshall Scholarships since the program's inception. Prominent past Marshall Scholars include US Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer; former Wellesley president Nannerl Keohane; and Pulitzer Prize winning authors Tom Friedman of the New York Times and Dan Yergin ("The Prize"); Yale Law School Dean Harold Koh; and noted inventor Ray Dolby (Dolby stereo).