C of I offers George Wolfe Scholarships to students

The College of Idaho is pleased to offer two scholarship opportunities for the 2015-16 Academic year in honor of George V. Wolfe, the legendary professor who founded the C of I’s Department of Political Economy in 1946. Applications are now open for both scholarships.  Students interested in applying for either or both awards must submit an application and a current transcript to the Office of Student Financial Services in Hendren Hall by noon Friday, March 6, 2015. Click here to download application forms and to learn more about application procedures.

(1) The George Wolfe Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding C of I student. Applicants must currently attend the C of I; maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher; be majoring in political economy, international political economy, history, philosophy, or minoring in pre-law; and demonstrate financial need (FAFSA required). Applicants will be interviewed by a selection committee consisting of faculty representatives from political economy, history, and philosophy, one additional at-large faculty member, and a graduate of the College currently practicing law in the Treasure Valley. Applicants will be notified of their interview day and time.

(2) The Irma Frisch Farrington Fund-George Wolfe Pre-Law Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding C of I student based on course work. It is designated to College of Idaho Students studying pre-law or demonstrating law school ambitions. The recipient must be a full-time student with sophomore standing or above with a minimum GPA 3.00 and show need (FAFSA required).

A teaching legend at the C of I, Wolfe received his law degree from the University of Vienna. After fleeing his native Austria on the eve of World War II in 1939, he served as an in-residence scholar in the Department of Political Science at Yale University before coming to The College of Idaho. Over a 24-year period, many of Wolfe’s students attended outstanding law schools and graduate schools, a tradition that still holds today. Dr. Wolfe also founded Model UN at the C of I. These scholarships are generously funded and sustained by alumni who honor Wolfe’s legacy through financial support of current C of I students. 

Professor Rob Dayley, Chair of the Department of Political Economy, is available to answer questions about these scholarship opportunities at [email protected], (208) 459-5333, or Strahorn Hall room 102.

Founded in 1891, The College of Idaho is the state’s oldest private liberal arts college. The C of I has a legacy of academic excellence, a winning athletics tradition and a history of producing successful graduates, including seven Rhodes Scholars and 14 Marshall, Truman and Goldwater Scholars. The College’s close-knit, residential campus is located in Caldwell. Its distinctive PEAK Curriculum challenges students to attain competency in the four knowledge peaks of the humanities, natural sciences, social sciences and a professional field—empowering them to earn a major and three minors in four years. For more information, visit